kah2004's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reflection...

On Feb. 11th, 1986 in a hospital somewhere in Calcutta, India, a girl was born 2 months premature. Unlike most babies that are born, she was not received into the welcoming arms of her parents, rather, she was rejected. In Calcutta, India, female babies were most unwanted, and are still to this day. The reason for such is because of the dowry system.

An unknown woman gave birth to this 2 month premature baby and put her up to adoption. Papers were written, signed, totally anonymous birth; never to be found. This 2 month premie was put in the care of the nurses and through two bouts of pneumonia, she survived.

On July 14th, of that same year, she was welcomed into the arms of a family. After five months of having no one, she had a place and a name.

She was home.
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
On my 18th birthday (today) I am thinking of all that I am. I am an American, and I don't think I will ever be able to put into words how lucky I know I am. Because I started life out with no one but myself, I know that I can survive. No matter what life throws my way, I have all that I need to pull through. I have surrounded myself with amazing people who I turn to in need to encouragement and support, and without this amazing support group, who knows where I would be.

I want to take this lil' space and say thank you to every single person I've ever met b/c you have touched my life and have shown me what it means to be alive.

Keep living no matter what life wants you to think. Life IS so damn worth living!!

*love & kisses* G'Nite everyone!

10:46 PM - 02.11.04 Wednesday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

poetsthought