kah2004's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Practice what you preach.

Lesson of the evening: Practice what you preach.

Plan and simple... I've put up w/ my 'rents not practicing what they preach for 17 damn years... and so I cannot urge on how important it is that you follow what you teach.

One example is @ dinner, in my family, you always ate w/ manners... meaning no elbows on the table, always say "excuse me", etc etc. Tonite, my dad proceeded to fart and not excuse himself, so I said, "I can still hear and would like you to excuse yourself." He just looked at me and did nothing. I repeated myself and again he did nothing, just looked at me and kept eating. I may as well have been speaking to a wall. So then I said, "Mom... dad just..." and she said, "He makes the rules." and proceeded to eat.

What the fuck is that?!?!

I am a person who relies on the little things in life to get me by... whether it be knowing a certain show is on and I can just zone out while watching it... or being able to rely on so&so to do this or that... whatever. But... for my whole life... the little things are what are always getting changed in my life. Supposedly "I dislike routine and conformity" but for me... those are what get me by... I rely on routine to get by when I feel like breaking down, etc... I can just go on "auto-pilot" and not think. Well... in my family... there's not much routine in things... there is overall... but not in the little things I depend on.

And let me tell you... it just causes me a fucking lot more stress than should.... and totally throws me for another loop that I just should not be having to deal with.

If someone were to ask me tomorrow if I liked routine or not... I'd reply that routine in the form of the "little things of life" are what get me by, while routine in the big things just plain sucks.

Oh yeah... my point is don't forget the little things in life and practice what you preach....

Latas & G'Nite.
-KAH-

7:23 PM - 03.12.03 Wednesday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

poetsthought