kah2004's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Train Ride from HELL

Okay... so after a wonderful nite's sleep, an actually meal (adobe chicken! yummy!) and a nice long actually SHOWER.... KAH feels a freaking lot better!!

So... the train ride down didn't seem like so damn long--- mainly b/c there were so many transfers & such. We absolutely lucked out in Flagstaff (AZ) b/c there was a shuttle service that, for $25, would take you directly to your destination. Meaning straight to Granma's house we go-- literally. The guy's name is Jack and he even knew where Seabeck was!! He's been here waaaay back when. He's 75 and was a much more charming version of my Uncle Denny (nicely put of course *smirk*) and we all enjoyed the 90 ride to Chino Valley. We surprised Grandma by arriving at their house @ 9:30 am on Tuesday morning. No one was more shocked than us!!

At Chino Valley, upon arriving I realized that the house I had visited at 6 years prev. was in Yuma-- so this was all new for me. Its a really cool single floor place with a wall in the middle with a door and a sliding glass door (seems they added on this section sometime ago) and this part was were we all slept and it was much, much cooler in the morning & during the day. We enjoyed upon 90's and those days most of us were outside working around the place-- getting it back in shape, if you will.

Happily for us, we found out that John (uncle) was to arrive that evening, in time for dinner... and Mira and Joe (cuz & her dad- my uncle) would be there later from driving over all day (they live in Riverside, CA). The next day had Taylor, John & Joe outside weed-eating, mowing, and fixing stuff, while Sara, Mira, and I smoothed over all the damn groundhog mounds.

The next day had John & Joe up on the roof repairing it in 98 degree weather & then Taylor joined them to fix Grandpa's truck. It was great to see G-pa & G-ma so damn excited & happy to have their yard & house & everything all fixed up and clean & working again. They'll be telling everyone about that until October when all 8 kids come (my dad's siblings).

Then, that nite we got a German Chocolate cake for Taylor's 21st bday they next day, but celebrated it that evening b/c he was leaving the next day to stay in a hotel for one nite then to catch his train @ 5 am on the 31st. After Taylor left, Joe & Mira were already on the road home, then John left.... and Sara & I remained.

We went to the store with G-ma... went hunting for Anne's place w/ G-pa driving (he very narrowly almost hit a big metal mailbox, but swerved out of the way at the last minute, to all of our relief) then we ended the nite with a movie of Secondhand Lions (very cute-- i liked it) and Sara noticed that G-rents had fallen asleep. It was so damn cute!! She got pics of it, too!!

The nite finally ended @ around 11 for me and a lil' bit late for everyone else... then Sara & I got up early (by 6:30) to get ready for our shuttle to Flagstaff at 8:15. We had our train that nite at 9 pm--- so we set off to spend the day in Flagstaff.

We walked around NAU's campus, saw [rather we snuck into] the last hour or so of "Harold & Kumar go to White Castle" [or whatever its called] while we waited for the "The Bourne Supremacy"-- which was absolutely nothing like the book but was a good movie nonetheless. After getting got in the rain we once again walked around Target... then we headed for the other side of town and some food... mised by an hour (and $3) a show by Spoonfed Tribe @ the Flagstaff Brewery (we ate right next door to it and watched them set up for the show) and so yeah....

We arrived in LA the next morning @ 8 and then Mira, et al showed up and we talked and waited in line forever to get on the train... and thus began the fucking 36 hour long nightmare of a train ride.... LOL while Sara and I battled our slowly dying cell phone batteries.... oops where's a charger when ya need one.... *mmm*...

But yeah....DAMN we had the Mullet family sitting in front of us (Dad & son both had one) plus all the other very impressive ones we saw on the way down... in was funny b/c after we got to Tacoma, Sara pointed out a baby in the lobby who had a nice one so I said "Damn its Mullet Grand Central Station" LOL... and then while I battled my beeping phone telling me the battery was low I attempted to call my mom to find she was LOST on 21st street when she needed to be on 24th to get to Puyallup Ave... heheeh... so my aunt Eileen had to call her back and give her directions...

Oh yeah... my cuz Mira cut her hair waaaaay short so I've decided to cut mine b4 I leave next month... any suggestions on a good cut for me? or on where to find some good hairstyles? I want short hair!!!

Latas...
--KAH->

EDIT--> I got my roomy assignment: Her name's Chelsea and I think she lives near my aunt (same area code) and I'm in 922 Ridgeway Gamma and have 6 other suitemates.... craziness!! can't wait for the end of September!! woo-hoo!!

11:15 AM - 08.03.04 Tuesday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

poetsthought